The Diocese of Kirinyaga was created in July 1990 on the subdivision of the former Diocese of Mt. Kenya East. It comprised of Kirinyaga, Isiolo, Meru, Marsabit and Moyale Districts.On 1st July 1997 the Diocese of Meru carved out leaving Kirinyaga, Isiolo, Moyale and Marsabit Districts.

In 2008, Isiolo, Marsabit and Moyale Districts were taken directly under All Saints Cathedral Diocese in preparation to become a Missionary Diocese leaving the present Kirinyaga Diocese. The diocese has seven Archdeaconries, twenty seven deaneries, one hundred and fifteen parishes, two hundred and twenty nine congregations and over 145,000 Christians.

The first Bishop was the Late Archbishop Emeritus Dr. David M. Gitari (1991 to 1997). The second Bishop was Rt. Rev. Emeritus Daniel Munene Ngoru (1997 to 2012). The third Bishop is Rt. Rev. Joseph Karimi Kibucwa (December 2012 to date)


A growing Church witnessing for Christ


To holistically equip God’s people using the Gospel of Christ

Mission Statement

The Diocese of Kirinyaga is called to proclaim the Gospel of Christ, maintain the culture of worship and inspire all persons with the love of Christ so that they may live life in abundance.

Core Values

Integrity- Both the clergy and the laity are driven by truthfulness, openness and honesty. Truth defines our relationship with each other and by God Himself.
Hardwork- We believe is being industrious, zealous, diligent in all our undertakings.
Passion- We strongly believe in our purpose to deliver our mission. Truly we can do all things through Christ (Phil 4:13)
Service- We want to develop a servant’s heart that seeks to always meet of others (Mathew 20:28)
Prayer- Maintaining a continuous conversation with God.(1 Thessalonians 5:17)
God’s Word- Spending consistent time reading the bible and applying its truth (2Tim 3:16)

The Anglican Church Of Kenya - Diocese Of Kirinyaga
PO BOX 95 10304 kutus
+254 202 12 44 14
© 2020 ACK Diocese Of Kirinyaga. All Rights Reserved.Design & Development by Ecloud